New Trophies at Scale ModelWorld 2015

Scale ModelWorld 2015 is still some months away but we are pleased to announce some new Trophies for the Competition.

Westland Aircraft 100th Anniversary Trophy
To celebrate the 100th anniversary of Westland’s at Yeovil in 2015, the manufacturers are kindly offering a trophy for this year. The winning models (First, Second and Third places) will be displayed at their headquarters in Yeovil for the anniversary year. As part of the arrangement, Westlands are prepared to offer assistance to potential model builders in helping to research their chosen project by providing information from their company archives (with the obvious proviso that they can’t guarantee to have that something specific in those archives).

Susan and Steven Meadowcroft Memorial Trophy
The second new trophy for this year (and we hope for future years too) is for the civilian vehicle enthusiasts. The trophy will awarded to the best civilian vehicle from the 1950s. Susan and Steven passed away recently and as a fitting tribute to them, we hope that the award will inspire competitors to build civilian vehicles from this classic era of car design.

IPMS Ireland Award
Our friends from across the Irish Sea have kindly offered to sponsor a trophy for the best model of an Irish subject or with an Irish connection, any scale, any type. IPMS Ireland have specified that this Trophy can only be entered by modellers who are not themselves Irish the award will be given to a non Irish competitor. The entry card will need to specify the connection to Ireland in order to assist the judges in their choice. This is another great IPMS trophy and one that we hope will continue for many years.

Harry Frazer Mitchell Memorial Award & Handley Page Association Trophy
We have for many years awarded a Handley Page Trophy, sponsored by the Handley Page Society. Sadly, Harry Frazer Mitchell, the long term organiser behind the trophy passed away recently and in recognition for his support over the years, we have been asked to rename the Trophy to reflect Harry’s legacy.

In a slight change to the award criteria, the Trophy will be awarded to the best model of a Handley Page designed aircraft in any scale or a BAe System Hawk in any scale.

Harry was a champion of all Hadley Page designs and worked for the company right up until they finally ceased to build aeroplanes. He went onto help design the BAe Systems Hawk. Harry was a great champion for scale models and would help and inspire any modeller who wanted to build any of these designs. A new trophy will be awarded for this year and for subsequent years.

These new trophies will be added to a wide range of existing awards that are hotly contested every year at Scale ModelWorld. The enthusiasm of individuals and groups to bring forward trophies for our annual contest is a great advert for the popularity and reputation of the event and we thank all the sponsors for their continued support.

More details of the Competition and any new Trophies will be announced over the coming months.
Happy modelling
Tony Horton
IPMS (UK) Competition Secretary